The Public Sphere and Common Sense

Symposion of the Cinepoetics-group in cooperation with the Paris Center of the University of Chicago and the Vanderbilt University. 08/09.06.2018

Jun 28, 2017

The Public Sphere and Common Sense

The Public Sphere and Common Sense

After Cinepoetics held a symposium on Hanna Arendt’s political theory, titled „Politics and Poetics“, in Summer 2017 in Berlin, David N. Rodowick invited us to the University of Chicago Center in Paris where we continued our discussion with focus on “The Public Sphere and the Common Sense.” As a cooperation between Cinepoetics, Vanderbilt University, and the University of Chicago, the symposium gathered a group of renowned experts on Arendt’s writings. Thus, we were able to discuss principal topics in her work extensively that are of importance for the work of Cinepoetics, among them: thinking, judging, sensus communis, the relation of arts and politics as well as her concept of the ‘Weltbetrachter.’

To prepare for the symposium, the shared reading material included The Crisis in Culture, Thinking and Moral Considerations: A Lecture, Introduction to The Life of The Mind as well as extracts from Lectures on Kant’s Political Philosophy und Kant’s Kritik der Urteilskraft. Each of the principal topics were introduced through a short statement by Thomas Bartscherer, David N. Rodowick, Hermann Kappelhoff, Barbara Hahn, and James McFarland. The discussants then related these introductions to their own reading experience and collective scholarly fields (as there were scholars from Film Studies, German Studies, Philosophy, and Publishing Studies).

Participants:

Thomas Bartscherer (Bard College, New York), Hanno Berger (Vanderbilt University), Regina Brückner (Cinepoetics), Wout Cornelissen (Vanderbilt University), Barbara Hahn (Vanderbilt University), Hermann Kappelhoff (Cinepoetics), Ingo Kieslich (Vanderbilt University), Susanne Lüdemann (LMU München), James McFarland (Vanderbilt University), Christian Pischel (Freie Universität Berlin), David N. Rodowick (University of Chicago), Christina Schmitt (Cinepoetics), Michael Wedel (Cinepoetics), Thomas Wild (Bard College, New York)

The Public Sphere and Common Sense

Symposion der Kolleg-Forschungsgruppe Cinepoetics in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Paris Center of the University of Chicago und der Vanderbilt University. 08/09.06.2018

28.06.2017

The Public Sphere and Common Sense

The Public Sphere and Common Sense

Nachdem Cinepoetics im Sommer 2017 das Cinepoetics Symposion „Politics and Poetics“ zu Hanna Arendts politischer Theorie in Berlin ausgerichtet hatte, folgten wir im Juni 2018 Jahr der Einladung David N. Rodowicks an das University of Chicago Center in Paris, und setzten unsere Diskussion mit einem Fokus auf „The Public Sphere and Common Sense“ fort. Als Kooperation zwischen Cinepoetics, der Vanderbilt University und der University of Chicago war es uns möglich, in einer kleinen Gruppe gemeinsam mit ausgewiesenen Arendt-Expertinnen und Experten für uns zentrale Themen in Arendts Werk intensiv zu diskutieren: Denken, Urteilen, Sensus Communis, Kunst und Politik sowie der Weltbetrachter.

Als vorbereitende Lektüre und gemeinsamer Bezugspunkt für die zweitägige Diskussion lasen wir The Crisis in Culture, Thinking and Moral Considerations: A Lecture, Introduction to The Life of The Mind sowie Auszüge aus den Lectures on Kant’s Political Philosophy und Kants Kritik der Urteilskraft. Die einzelnen thematischen Schwerpunkte – jeweils eingeleitet von kurzen Statements von Thomas Bartscherer, David N. Rodowick, Hermann Kappelhoff, Barbara Hahn und James McFarland – wurden in der fortlaufenden Diskussion immer wieder aufeinander bezogen und im Lichte der unterschiedlichen am Tisch versammelten Perspektiven (Filmwissenschaft, Philosophie, Germanistik, Editionswissenschaft) entfaltet.

Teilnehmer*innen des Symposions:

Thomas Bartscherer (Bard College, New York), Hanno Berger (Vanderbilt University), Regina Brückner (Cinepoetics), Wout Cornelissen (Vanderbilt University), Barbara Hahn (Vanderbilt University), Hermann Kappelhoff (Cinepoetics), Ingo Kieslich (Vanderbilt University), Susanne Lüdemann (LMU München), James McFarland (Vanderbilt University), Christian Pischel (Freie Universität Berlin), David N. Rodowick (University of Chicago), Christina Schmitt (Cinepoetics), Michael Wedel (Cinepoetics), Thomas Wild (Bard College, New York)