Research Program

Overview Research Program

Our work at Cinepoetics – Center for Advanced Film Studies is set to theoretically and methodologically grasp the poiesis of viewing films, and to describe all its possible implications. The assumption is that specific schemata of cognition, feeling, and thinking – on the basis of which we experience and understand film – only emerge through the interaction of audiovisual images as an embodied seeing and hearing. By analyzing the repetition, alteration, or intertwining of these schemata, understood as modulations of the temporality and expressivity of images, we want to approach a genuine discourse of thinking in cinematic images. Thus, political as well as historical effects are expressed in this discourse.

In making our central theses concerning the poiesis of viewing films and the discourse of cinematic images graspable, we are exploring several different scholarly perspectives, with the help of colleagues from disciplines such as film and media studies, but also psychology and linguistics, philosophy, literature studies, and artistic researchers. At the core of our work lies the constant interchange of ideas between our research group (directors as well as the post-doctoral and doctoral researchers) and the contributions of our fellows and guests through readings, film screenings, and talks in each research focus.

Both, individual projects and group events aim at closely taking into account the dimensions of the poiesis of viewing films and the discourse of audiovisual images. These are:

1.)   Theoretical and methodical models, able to describe the interaction with cinematic images as a process of generating meaning and the production of effects of subjectivity.

2.)   Effects of community building which can be analyzed within the poiesis of viewing films as a ‘making’ of different forms of shared experience – as a mode of plural thinking.

3.)   Establishing a space of historical experience where various poetologies of audiovisual images can connect and branch out, thus, enabling a thinking of historicity.

We have been working on these three dimensions in discrete but consecutive research foci: first we worked with theoretical and methodical models. Our paradigmatic focus here was the case of metaphor and metaphorizing in film. Subsequently, we treated questions concerning the relation of genre poetics and affective dimensions of audiovisual images, before we continued with historical as well as recent concepts of poiesis, poetics, and political praxis. Furthermore, we researched perspectives from the philosophy of history to understand not only the discourse of historical experience, but also the artistic practices within this realm of experience.

Forschungsprogramm

Überblick Forschungsprogramm

Das Ziel unserer Arbeit in der Kolleg-Forschungsgruppe Cinepoetics ist es, die Poiesis des Filme-Sehens theoretisch und methodologisch zu erfassen und in ihren Implikationen zu beschreiben. Wir gehen von der These aus, dass die konkreten Schemata des Wahrnehmens, Fühlens und Denkens, mit denen wir Filme erfahren und verstehen, immer erst in der Interaktion zwischen den audiovisuellen Bildern und einem verkörperten Sehen und Hören entstehen. Indem wir die Wiederholung, Abwandlung, Durchkreuzung dieser Schemata untersuchen, die wir als Modulationen der Zeitlichkeit und Expressivität der Bilder fassen, wollen wir einen genuinen Diskurs des Denkens in filmischen Bildern greifbar machen – einen Diskurs, der sowohl politische als auch historische Effekte zeitigt.

Dieser Grundfrage nach der Poiesis des Filme-Sehens und dem Diskurs filmischer Bilder wollen wir in verschiedenen Richtungen nachgehen, zu denen wir uns jeweils die Expertise von Kollegen und Kolleginnen aus der Film- und Medienwissenschaft, aber auch aus der Psychologie und der Linguistik, der Philosophie und der Literaturwissenschaft aber auch künstlerisch Schaffende einladen. Der Kern der Arbeit besteht in der kontinuierlichen Auseinandersetzung der Forschungsgruppe (die Sprecher und Wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter) mit den Beiträgen der Fellows und Gäste sowie den Lektüren, Sichtungen und Vorträgen der jeweiligen Forschungsschwerpunkte.

Die individuellen Arbeiten und die gemeinsamen Veranstaltungen zielen alle darauf, Dimensionen der Poiesis des Filme-Sehens und dem Diskurs filmischer Bilder genauer in den Blick zu nehmen. Das sind:

1.)   Die theoretischen und methodischen Modelle, mit denen die Interaktion mit den filmischen Bildern als Prozess der Sinn- und Bedeutungsgenerierung, als Hervorbringung von Subjektivitätseffekten beschrieben werden kann.

2.)   Die Effekte der Gemeinschaftsbildung, die sich in der Poiesis des Filme-Sehens als einem Machen von Formen geteilter Erfahrung, als einem Modus des pluralen Denkens analysieren lassen.

3.)   Die Hervorbringung eines Raumes historischer Erfahrung, in dem sich die unterschiedlichen Poetologien audiovisueller Bilder verzweigen und verbinden und so ein Denken des Geschichtlichen ermöglichen.

Diese drei Dimensionen bearbeiten wir in einzelnen, aufeinander aufbauenden Forschungsschwerpunkten: Begonnen haben wir mit den theoretischen und methodischen Modellen. Diese haben wir anhand des paradigmatischen Falles der filmischen Metaphorisierungen in den Blick genommen. Daran schloss die Auseinandersetzung mit Fragestellungen an, welche das Verhältnis zwischen Genrepoetik und der affektiven Dimension filmischer Bilder fokussierten, bevor historische und aktuelle Konzepte von Poiesis, Poetik und politischer Praxis im Zentrum standen. Zuletzt waren die geschichtsphilosophischen Grundlagen einer Rede von historischer Erfahrung Forschungsgegenstand, ebenso wie künstlerische Praxen historischer Erfahrung.