Research Focus: Cinematic Image and Historical Experience

Historical experience

Historical experience

Research Focus: Cinematic Image and Historical Experience

 

Our activities related to our research foci Genre and Affect as well as Poetics and Politics resulted in a reassessment of our hypotheses regarding historicity. This concerns the communities of taste as a connection between genre and history, and between politics and history. Furthermore, this means that we have to overcome a reduction of historicity of cinematic images to a mere context that would entail some sort of “knowledge” on “conventions” and representations of historical themes.

This led to the question of how to conceptually and methodologically grasp a specific historical dimension of experience as effect and condition of the poiesis of viewing films within the aesthetic mode of film, while critically drawing on the ideas of hermeneutics. Our interest not only lies in what can be defined as historical in cinematic images (as products) and what may relate to a (political, social, etc.) history. Primarily, we wanted to investigate how cinematic images shape an understanding of historicity and even create historical experience as an aesthetic experience in the first place.

At the core of our work with film and media scholars Thomas Elsaesser, Erica Carter, Robert Burgoyne, Julian Hanich, Deniz Göktürk, Erhard Schüttpelz, Winfried Pauleit, and Heide Schlüpmann was the question of how to grasp the thinking of cinematic images and the poiesis of viewing films as a constructed space of historical experience. We examined and applied this issue discussing presentations by our Artists-in-Residence, Ayse Polat and Isabel Mundry, and by artistic researchers like Stanislas Meda Bemile.

We proceeded from the assumption that the poetics of cinematic images can be understood as manifold world versions, with each one delineating, varying, or continuing another. Synchronously, these poetological world versions of cinematic images may relate to one another in a multifaceted manner of competition and dependency. Diachronically, one can reconstruct history as a process in which various aesthetic commonalities are permanently reconstructed as ever-changing conditions of understanding and judging, feeling and imagining in specific political, cultural, and technological constellations.

In order to examine these hypotheses in more detail, we wanted to link our historical-theoretical reflections to earlier research foci. Concerning our focus Metaphor - Film Images, Cinematic Thinking, and Cognition, we found that cinematic processes of metaphorization are closely related to models of transformation and description in historical-theoretical thinking (e.g. in Reinhart Koselleck, Hayden White, and Paul Ricoeur).

Furthermore, this focus was similar to our approach to Genre and Affect insofar as we wanted to reconstruct the differentiations of the poiesis of viewing films as an unfolding of various modalities of affect. In doing so, we followed the ramifications of different cinematic genres, their transformations (Fredric Jameson), affinities (Siegfried Kracauer), and dialogical interactions (Michail Bachtin) with the genres of other art and entertainment forms.

Referring to Hannah Arendt and Michel de Certeau, and organizing a lecture series on 1968, we established additional links to our research focus Poetics and Politics in that we examined the relation between a poetic conception of the world and processes of cultural and political commonality. We specified this relation historically through analyzing the emergence of heterogeneous communities of taste and their tactics of appropriation and consumption – a topic we wish to work on in more detail during the upcoming semesters.

As we discussed these approaches in colloquia and exemplified them on different subjects in our workshops, it became apparent that the ‘historicity of cinematic images’ is entirely different from the idea of applying implicit cultural or historical knowledge to films. On the contrary, the poetic dimension of experiencing audiovisual movement images affects the possibility of understanding history. It modulates the conditions of understanding.

 

The results of our research focus have been published in the following volumes of our Cinepoetics book series:

Michael Wedel: Pictorial Affects, Senses of Rupture. On the Poetics and Culture of Popular German Cinema, 1910-1930 (Januar 2019)

Hermann Kappelhoff, Christine Lötscher, Daniel Illger (Eds.): Filmische Seitenblicke. Cinepoetische Exkursionen ins Kino von 1968 (Oktober 2018)

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Filmisches Bild und Historische Erfahrung

Historizität

Historizität

Sowohl in den Veranstaltungen zum Schwerpunkt Genre und Affekt als auch in denen zum Schwerpunkt Poetik und Politik führten die Ergebnisse dazu, dass die ursprünglichen Fragen unter den Vorzeichen der Historizität jeweils noch einmal neu zu stellen waren. Das betrifft zum einen die Geschmacksgemeinschaften als eine Schnittstelle von Genre und Geschichte sowie von Politik und Geschichte. Das betrifft zum anderen die Erkenntnis, dass eine Reduktion der Geschichtlichkeit filmischer Bilder auf einen Kontextbegriff, der allein so etwas wie „Wissen“ um „Konventionen“ und die Darstellungsebene historischer Sachverhalte umfasst, überwunden werden muss.

Damit tauchte das Problem auf, im ästhetischen Modus des Films eine spezifische Erfahrungsdimension des Historischen als Effekt und als Bedingung der Poiesis des Filme-Sehens begrifflich und methodologisch greifbar zu machen, mithin auch an das Erbe der Hermeneutik kritisch anzuknüpfen. Nicht nur dem, was an filmischen Bildern (als Produkten) historisch sein mag und sich zur (politischen, gesellschaftlichen etc.) Geschichte in Beziehung setzen lässt, gilt unser Interesse. Es geht vor allem darum, wie sie ein Verständnis von Geschichtlichkeit prägen und historische als ästhetische Erfahrung eigentlich erst hervorbringen.

Im Zentrum unserer Arbeit mit den Film- und Medienwissenschaftlern Thomas Elsaesser, Erica Carter, Robert Burgoyne, Julian Hanich, Deniz Göktürk, Erhard Schüttpelz, Winfried Pauleit und Heide Schlüpmann stand daher die Frage, wie sich das Denken filmischer Bilder, die Poiesis des Filme-Sehens, als Konstruktion eines Raumes historischer Erfahrung fassen lässt. Vertieft und angewandt wurde dies in der Auseinandersetzung mit Präsentationen und Beiträgen unserer Artists in Residence Ayse Polat und Isabel Mundry und künstlerisch schaffender Gäste wie Stanislas Meda Bemile.

Wir gingen von der Annahme aus, dass sich Poetiken filmischer Bilder als eine Vielfalt unterschiedlicher Weltversionen verstehen lassen, die sich voneinander abgrenzen, einander fortschreiben oder variieren. Synchron mögen diese poetologischen Weltentwürfe filmischer Bilder in mannigfaltigen Konkurrenz- und Abhängigkeitsverhältnissen stehen. Diachron wäre ihre Geschichte als Prozess der permanenten Um- und Neugestaltung diverser ästhetischer Gemeinschaftsbildungen, als wechselnde Bedingungen eines Verstehens und Urteilens, Fühlens und Imaginierens in spezifischen politischen, kulturellen und medientechnischen Konstellationen zu rekonstruieren.

Die Wege, die im Rahmen eines solchen Erkenntnisinteresses beschritten und geschichtstheoretisch reflektiert werden sollten, schlossen an unsere bisherigen Forschungsschwerpunkte an. Wir haben festgestellt, anknüpfend an das Thema „Metapher – Kognition und filmisches Denken“, dass filmische Prozesse der Metaphorisierung auf analoge Übertragungs- und Beschreibungsmodelle im geschichtstheoretischen Denken (z.B. Reinhart Koselleck, Hayden White, Paul Ricoeur) bezogen werden können.

Aufs Engste verbunden war dieser Schwerpunkt mit unserem Ansatz zu „Genre und Affekt“, der darauf gerichtet ist, die Ausdifferenzie­rungen der Poiesis des Filme-Sehens als historische Ausfaltung unterschiedlicher Affektmodalitäten zu rekonstruieren. Dabei gingen wir den Verzweigungen diverser Genres filmischer Bilder, ihren Transformationen (Fredric Jameson), Affinitäten (Siegfried Kracauer) und dialogischen Wechselwirkungen (Michail Bachtin) mit den Medien und Gattungen anderer Kunst- und Unterhaltungsformen nach.

Mit Hannah Arendt und Michel de Certeau sowie mit der Ringvorlesung zu 1968 knüpften wir schließlich an den Forschungsschwerpunkt „Poetik und Politik“ an, indem wir das Verhältnis zwischen poetischer Weltwahrnehmung und Prozessen kultureller und politischer Gemeinschaftsbildung in den Blick nahmen. Dieses Verhältnis haben wir an Beispielen der Herausbildung heterogener Geschmacksgemeinschaften und ihrer Taktiken der Aneignung und des Konsums historisch präzisieren können – ein Thema, das wir in den kommenden Semestern noch weiter vertiefen wollen.

Gemeinsam war den genannten Ansätzen, die in Colloquien diskutiert und in Workshops an exemplarischen Gegenständen erprobt wurden, dass mit der Rede von der ‚Historizität filmischer Bilder‘ etwas anderes gemeint ist als ein implizites kulturelles oder historisches Wissen, das auf Filme in Anschlag gebracht wird. Vielmehr betrifft die poetische Erfahrungsdimension audiovisueller Bewegungsbilder immer auch die Möglichkeiten des Verstehens von Geschichte selbst: Sie modelliert die Bedingungen dieses Verstehens.

 

Ausgearbeitet wurden die ersten Ergebnisse in den folgenden Bänden der Cinepoetics-Schriftenreihe:

Michael Wedel: Pictorial Affects, Senses of Rupture. On the Poetics and Culture of Popular German Cinema, 1910-1930 (Januar 2019)

Hermann Kappelhoff, Christine Lötscher, Daniel Illger (Eds.): Filmische Seitenblicke. Cinepoetische Exkursionen ins Kino von 1968 (Oktober 2018)