Fellows in the research focus: Genre and Affect

Warren Buckland

Reader in Film Studies at Oxford Brookes University. His career as a film scholar began after he was awarded a British Academy Post-Doctoral Fellowship in Film Studies in 1994. He spent time teaching at the University of Amsterdam, Liverpool John Moores University, and Chapman University/California.

Robert Burgoyne

Professor of Film Studies at the University of St Andrews, Scotland. His work centers on historiography and film, with a special emphasis on American cinema, history and national identity, and the counter narratives of nation that have emerged in many films.

Lynne Cameron

Senior Fellow and Artist-in-residence for the first two years of the Cinepoetics project. As an applied linguist, she has worked for many years on metaphor in spoken discourse, most recently applying this to empathy and post-conflict reconciliation.

Erica Carter

Professor of German at King’s College, London. She is also the co-founder of the German Screen Studies Network.

Thomas Elsaesser

Professor emeritus at Universiteit van Amsterdam and one of the most important researchers in the international field of film studies.

Gesa Frömming

Literature scholar with a focus on late 18th- and early 19th-Century German literature and aesthetics, contemporary German literature, aesthetics and politics, and aesthetics of music.

Christine Gledhill

Professor emeritus in film studies and Visiting Professor at the University of Sunderland. She is one of the most prominent experts on the theory of film genres in general and on the theory of melodrama in particular. Her wide-ranging research interests also include feminist film theory and British cinema, especially of the 1920s.

Barbara Hahn

Max Kade Foundation Chair in German Studies of the Department of Germanic and Russian Languages and Literatures at Vanderbilt University, Nashville. Also, she is a distinguished expert on the work of Hannah Arendt and Rahel Levin Varnhagen.

Anke Hennig

Lecturer at The Berlin University of Art and at Central Saint Martins College of the University of the Arts London. From January to December 2017 she is a fellow at Cinepoetics. Often working interdisciplinary and collaboratively, her focus of research lies on contemporary literature and visual culture.

Daniel Illger

Film scholar and freelance writer. His research foci include the aesthetics and poetics of certain film genres, classical genre theory as well as the historicity of film.

Ingo Kieslich

Ingo Kieslich earned his PhD at the Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee with a dissertation about Walter Benjamin and Hannah Arendt. Further points of focus in his research work are storytelling, narration and space, as well as the relation of narration and the political. During his stay at the Freien Universität Berlin Kieslich is working on a research project titled “Hannah Arendt: Narrative in Context of Philosophical and Political Thinking”.

Christine Lötscher

Research assistant at the Institute for Popular Culture Studies at the University of Zurich. Her research focuses on theory of nonsense, popular genres in literature and film, such as speculative fiction, fantasy, horror, thriller and on media theory and media history.

D. N. Rodowick

Glen A. Lloyd Distinguished Service Professor at the University of Chicago and one of the internationally leading film philosophers and a central figure in the reception of the work of Gilles Deleuze. He is also an experimental filmmaker, video artist, and curator.

Anna Steininger

Video artist and graduate “visual artist”. As artist-in-residence at Cinepoetics, Anna Steininger will work on her art project, “Bild-Zeiten”.

Fellows des Forschungsschwerpunkts "Genre und Affekt"

Warren Buckland

Reader in Filmwissenschaft an der Oxford Brookes University in England. Seine Karriere als Filmwissenschaftler begann 1994 mit einer „British Academy Post-Doctoral Fellowship in Film Studies“. Er unterrichtete außerdem an der Universität Amsterdam, der Liverpool John Moores University und der Chapman University, California.

Robert Burgoyne

Professor für Filmwissenschaft an der University of St Andrews, Schottland. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte sind Historiographie und Film, mit einem Fokus auf US-amerikanisches Kino, amerikanische Geschichte und nationaler Identität sowie deren Konternarrativen im Film.

Lynne Cameron

Linguistin und Künstlerin, die als Senior Fellow und Artist in Residence von Oktober 2015 bis September 2017 mit uns zu Fragen audiovisueller Metaphorik arbeiten und zugleich Verbindungen zu künstlerischer Tätigkeit praktisch erforschen wird.

Erica Carter

Professorin für Germanistik am King’s College London. Sie ist außerdem Mitgründerin des German Screen Studies Network.

Thomas Elsaesser

Emeritierter Professor an der Universiteit van Amsterdam und einer der wichtigsten Vertreter der internationalen Filmwissenschaft.

Gesa Frömming

Germanistin mit Forschungsschwerpunkten in deutscher Literatur und Ästhetik des späten 18. und frühen 19. Jahrhunderts, zeitgenössischer deutscher Literatur, Ästhetik und Politik sowie Musikästhetik.

Christine Gledhill

Emeritierte Professorin für Filmwissenschaft und Visiting Professor an der University of Sunderland. Sie ist eine der profiliertesten Expertinnen für Genretheorien des Kinos im Allgemeinen und die Theorie des Melodramas im Speziellen.

Barbara Hahn

Derzeit Max Kade Foundation Chair in German Studies des Department of Germanic and Russian Languages and Literatures an der Vanderbilt University, Nashville. Sie ist unter anderem profilierte Expertin für das Werk Hannah Arendts und Rahel Levin Varnhagens.

Anke Hennig

Lehrbeauftragte an der Universität der Künste Berlin und am Central Saint Martins College der University of the Arts London und von Januar bis Dezember 2017 Fellow bei Cinepoetics. Interdisziplinär und oft kollaborativ arbeitend, liegen ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte in der zeitgenössischen Literatur und visueller Kultur.

Daniel Illger

Promovierter Filmwissenschaftler und derzeit freier Autor. Zu Illgers wissenschaftlichen Schwerpunkten gehören die Ästhetik und Poetik einzelner Filmgenres, klassische Gattungstheorien sowie die Geschichtlichkeit des Films.

Ingo Kieslich

Ingo Kieslich promovierte mit einer Dissertation über Walter Benjamin und Hannah Arendt an der Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee. Insbesondere befasste er sich dabei mit der Figur des Theoretikers als Geschichtenerzähler. In der Kollegforschergruppe arbeitet er zu einer kritischen Edition der Werke Hannah Arendts.

Christine Lötscher

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Institut für Sozialanthropologie und Empirische Kulturwissenschaft ISEK - Populäre Kulturen der Universität Zürich. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen in der Theorie des Nonsens, Populären Genres in Literatur und Film wie Phantastik, Fantasy, Horror, Thriller, in Medientheorie und -geschichte.

D. N. Rodowick

Glen A. Lloyd Distinguished Service Professor an der University of Chicago und einer der international führenden Filmphilosophen sowie zentraler Protagonist der Rezeption des Werks von Gilles Deleuze. Er ist außerdem Experimentalfilmer, Videokünstler und Kurator.

Anna Steininger

Videokünstlerin und diplomierter „Visual Artist“. Als Artist in Residence arbeitet Anna Steininger bei Cinepoetics an dem Kunst-Projekt „Bild-Zeiten“.