Research Focus: Metaphor - Film Images, Cinematic Thinking, and Cognition

CCC enrollees watching a movie

CCC enrollees watching a movie
Image Credit: Creative Commons (Gerald W. Williams Collection)

Research Focus: Metaphor - Film Images, Cinematic Thinking, and Cognition

 

The discourse around theories of metaphor and metaphorization marked the beginning of our work at Cinepoetics – Center for Advanced Film Studies. We focused on the question how theoretical concepts and analytical models regarding processes of metaphorization can constitute a valuable approach to the film-theoretical topos of thinking in audiovisual images. In analyzing if – and how – metaphorical meaning emerges within the interaction of cinematic images and audiences, we aimed at discerning a genuinely cinematic concept of metaphor.

Central to our approach was the fact that analyzing cinematic representation cannot be the key to the idea of thinking in audiovisual images. Thus, we did not aim at simply applying linguistic or cognitivist concepts of metaphor to cinematic representations. Nor did we regard audiovisual images as manifestations of an abstract interplay of generalized cognitive schemata. Rather, we assumed that thinking in audiovisual images is constituted only in the very interactions between cinematic images and their audiences. In this regard, we wanted to analyze metaphoricity as a process of emergence in which relations of meaning-making are established in the first place.

Working on these questions and theses, we followed a close transdisciplinary approach including film studies and recent metaphor research. While also being a senior fellow at Cinepoetics, our associated researcher, linguist and expert on gesture studies Cornelia Müller co-created our program for this research focus. During the first academic year, we worked with a diverse group of fellows from cognitive and applied linguistics, gesture studies, psychology and media studies: The work of our fellows Lynne Cameron, Alan Cienki, and Raymond W. Gibbs, Jr., founding members of the Association for Researching and Applying Metaphor (RaAM), has had a significant impact on current international metaphor research. Fellows for this focus also included Irene Mittelberg, Eve Sweetser, and Kathrin Fahlenbrach. Our guests were Naum Kleiman, Warren Buckland, Martin Vöhler, Oliver Lubrich, Charles Forceville, Mark Turner, and Petra Gehring.

Concentrating on questions of experiential reality, our reading group on classical theories of metaphor primarily concentrated on making visible the nexus between philosophical / rhetorical / poetological theories of metaphor on the one hand and cognitivist / linguistic theories of metaphor on the other. We were able to build on existing research on multimodal metaphor and cinematic expressive movement, which outlined a first engagement with dynamic metaphor in linguistics and cognitivism and provided us with a starting point from which we could focus on the connection of metaphorizing and thinking in cinematic images. Do acts of metaphorization relate to a poiesis of viewing films in the same way as they relate to verbal and gestural discourses?

We verified these hypotheses and methodical approaches in workshops as well as film-analytical colloquia through joint discussions about distinct subjects of study. These included various collaborations with Lynne Cameron, who, both as fellow and as Artist in Residence, gave us valuable impulses for a theoretical and practical reflection of perceiving, speaking and producing, of the poiesis in artistic practices and forms of creative collaboration.

In July 2016, we organized the international conference RaAM 11: Metaphor in the Arts, in Media and Communication, the bi-annual meeting of the Association for Researching and Applying Metaphor. A round-table presentation by members of Cinepoetics provided a possibility to share our film-theoretical perspective on metaphor (as it has been established in collaboration with our fellows) with an international community of metaphor researchers. Also, we hosted the pre-conference workshop “How meaning becomes graspable” on an interdisciplinary transfer of methods at the Europa-Universität Viadrina in Frankfurt (Oder).

Our first Cinepoetics Symposion was held in Fall 2016, co-organized by our associated member Anne Eusterschulte. A close reading of Hans Blumenberg’s philosophical concept of metaphorology laid the foundation for an initial film-theoretical summary of our first research focus.

Within this research focus theoretical elaborations and methodological outlines were developed, which allow us to understand metaphoricity as a dynamic process that links different forms of experiencing. Metaphors not only connect given similarities and their cognitive correlates; these connections themselves emerge as new perspectives on reality. In short: gestural, verbal, audiovisual and other metaphorizations do not simply transfer given meaning. They always relate to a comprehensive experience of reality, to a world that defines the condition of this relation in the very process of metaphorizing.

Reaching back to the film-theoretical concept of expressive movement, we understood the bodily experience of being affected by dynamic audiovisual images as a source of cinematic metaphorizations. This enabled us to merge the concept of thinking with audiovisual images, – similar to Sergei Eisenstein – with metaphors. This became graspable as a way of thinking that puts into effect a modulation of experiential schemata while inextricably linking together symbolic forms and affective dynamics.

 

These results have been published in the following volumes of our Cinepoetics book series:

Hermann Kappelhoff: Kognition und Reflexion. Zur Theorie filmischen Denkens (Oktober 2018)

Cornelia Müller und Hermann Kappelhoff: Cinematic Metaphor. Experience – Affectivity – Temporality (in Zusammenarbeit mit Sarah Greifenstein, Dorothea Horst, Thomas Scherer, Christina Schmitt) (Oktober 2018)

Sarah Greifenstein, Dorothea Horst, Thomas Scherer, Christina Schmitt, Hermann Kappelhoff, Cornelia Müller (Hrsg.): Cinematic Metaphor in Perspective. Reflections on a Transdisciplinary Framework (mit Beiträgen von Lynne Cameron, Alan Cienki, Anne Eusterschulte, Kathrin Fahlenbrach, Raymond W. Gibbs, Michael Wedel) (Oktober 2018)

Dorothea Horst: Meaning-Making and Political Campaign Advertising. A Cognitive-linguistic and Film-analytical Perspective on Audiovisual Figurativity (November 2018)

Christina Schmitt: Wahrnehmen, fühlen verstehen. Metaphorisieren und audiovisuelle Bilder (Frühjahr 2019)

 

Furthermore, the second edition of our online journal mediaesthetics gathers contributions by the keynote speakers and junior researchers of the 2016 RaAM conference, “Metaphor in the Arts, in Media and Communication” (which was organized by Cinepoetics in cooperation with the Europa-Universität Viadrina in Frankfurt/Oder).

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Metapher - Kognition und filmisches Denken

CCC enrollees watching a movie

CCC enrollees watching a movie
Bildquelle: Creative Commons (Gerald W. Williams Collection)

Die Auseinandersetzung mit Theorien zur Metapher und zur Metaphorologie bildete den Auftakt der Arbeit der Kolleg-Forschungsgruppe Cinepoetics – Poetologien audiovisueller Bilder. Im Mittelpunkt stand die Frage, ob theoretische Konzepte und Analysemodelle zu Prozessen der Metaphorisierung einen fruchtbaren Zugriff auf den filmtheoretischen Topos vom filmischen Denken darstellen. Wir untersuchten ob, und wenn ja wie, metaphorische Bedeutung durch die Interaktion von filmischen Bildern und Zuschauern entsteht und wie audiovisuelle Bilder eine genuin filmische Metaphorik entfalten.

Wir gingen davon aus, dass sich filmisches Denken nicht von einer Analyse der repräsentierten Inhalte her aufschlüsseln lässt. Es ging also nicht darum, linguistische oder kognitionstheoretische Metaphernkonzepte auf die repräsentierten Inhalte audiovisueller Bilder anzuwenden. Genauso wenig wollten wir die Bilder als Manifestationen eines abstrakten Zusammenspiels universeller kognitiver Schemata betrachten. Wir gingen vielmehr davon aus, dass sich das filmische Denken überhaupt erst in der konkreten Interaktion zwischen filmischen Bildern und Zuschauern konstituiert. Metaphorizität wollten wir in diesem Zusammenhang als einen Emergenzprozess untersuchen, in dem die bedeutungsgenerierenden Relationen selbst erst hergestellt werden.

Um diesen Fragen und Thesen nachzugehen, verfolgten wir einen dezidiert transdisziplinären Austausch zwischen der Filmwissenschaft und der gegenwärtigen Metaphernforschung. Die dem Kolleg assoziierte Linguistin und Gestenforscherin Cornelia Müller gestaltete die Forschungsarbeit zum Jahresthema mit und war hierfür zugleich Fellow. Im Laufe unseres ersten Jahres arbeiteten wir mit einer vielseitigen Fellowgruppe aus der Kognitiven und Angewandten Linguistik, der Gestenforschung, der Psychologie und der Medienwissenschaft: Mit Lynne Cameron, Alan Cienki und Raymond W. Gibbs, Jr. waren Gründungsmitglieder der Association for Researching and Applying Metaphor (RaAM) bei uns Fellows, deren Arbeiten das gegenwärtige internationale Forschungsfeld zur Metapher ganz entscheidend mitgeprägt haben. Weitere Fellows waren Irene Mittelberg, Eve Sweetser und Kathrin Fahlenbrach. Gäste waren Naum Kleiman, Warren Buckland, Martin Vöhler, Oliver Lubrich, Charles Forceville, Mark Turner und Petra Gehring.

In der Lektüregruppe zu klassischen Theorien der Metapher konzentrierten wir uns vor allen Dingen darauf, über die Frage nach der Erfahrungswirklichkeit, den Nexus zwischen philosophischen / rhetorischen / poetologischen auf der einen und kognitionstheoretischen / linguistischen Theorien der Metapher auf der anderen Seite wieder offen zu legen. Wir bauten dabei auf vorherige Forschungen zu multimodaler Metaphorik und filmischer Ausdrucksbewegung auf, in denen wir uns erstmal mit dynamischen Metaphernmodellen aus der Linguistik und Kognitionswissenschaft beschäftigten und nun auf den Konnex von Metaphorisierung und filmischen Denken fokussierten. Kann die Poiesis des Filme-Sehens in gleicher Art und Weise durch Metaphorisierungen aufgeschlossen werden, wie zum Beispiel die Dynamiken von verbalen und gestischen Diskursen?

Die Hypothesen und methodischen Ansätze wurden in Workshops und in den Filmanalytischen Colloquien an konkreten Gegenständen im gemeinsamen Gespräch angewandt und überprüft. Dazu gehörten auch die Aktivitäten Lynne Camerons, die als nicht nur als Fellow, sondern auch als Artist in Residence wertvolle Impulse zur theoretischen und praktischen Reflexion der Interaktionsräume des Wahrnehmens, Sprechens und Machens, der Poiesis in künstlerischen Praktiken und Formen kreativer Kollaboration gab.

Im Juli 2016 richteten wir mit der RaAM 11: Metaphor in the Arts, in Media and Communication, den alle zwei Jahre stattfindenden Kongress der RaAM – Association for Researching and Applying Metaphor an der Freien Universität Berlin aus. Mit einem round-table präsentierten wir eine genuin filmwissenschaftliche Perspektive zur Metapher, die wir gemeinsam mit unseren Fellows ausgearbeitet hatten, in der internationalen Gemeinschaft der angewandten Metaphernforschung. Ebenfalls veranstalteten wir einen pre-conference Workshop “How meaning becomes graspable” zum interdisziplinären Methodentransfer an der Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder).

Im Herbst 2016 veranstalteten wir das erste Cinepoetics-Symposion, das Anne Eusterschulte als assoziierte Kollegiatin mitgestaltete. Darin führten wir die Auseinandersetzung mit der philosophischen Metaphorologie nach Hans Blumenberg als Grundlage für ein filmtheoretisches Resümee des Jahresthemas.

Im Rahmen dieses Forschungsschwerpunktes entstanden theoretische Ausarbeitungen und methodologische Entwürfe, mit denen greifbar wird, inwiefern Metaphorizität als eine Dynamik zu fassen ist, die unterschiedliche Erfahrungsformen zueinander in Beziehung setzt. Metaphern verbinden dabei nicht einfach gegebene Ähnlichkeiten und ihre kognitiven Korrelate, sondern lassen diese Verbindungen als neue Perspektiven auf die Wirklichkeit erst entstehen. Zugespitzt bedeutet dies, dass gestische, sprachliche, audiovisuelle etc. Metaphorisierungen nicht einfach gegebene Bedeutungen übermitteln. Denn sie sind immer auf eine umfassende Erfahrungswirklichkeit, eine Welt bezogen und die Bedingungen dieses Bezugs werden durch den Prozess der Metaphorisierung selbst hergestellt.

Auf das filmtheoretische Konzept der Ausdrucksbewegung zurückgreifend, wurde die körperliche Erfahrung, von der Dynamik der Bilder affiziert zu werden, als grundlegende Quelle von filmischen Metaphorisierungen verstanden. Damit konnten wir an den filmtheoretischen Topos vom Denken des Films anschließen, wie er schon bei Sergei Eisenstein mit der Metapher verknüpft wurde, und diesen konkretisieren als ein Denken, das sich in der Modulation von Wahrnehmungsschemata vollzieht und dabei symbolische Formen mit affektiven Dynamiken untrennbar verknüpft.

 

Ausgearbeitet wurden die Ergebnisse in den folgenden Bänden der Cinepoetics-Schriftenreihe:

Hermann Kappelhoff: Kognition und Reflexion. Zur Theorie filmischen Denkens (Oktober 2018)

Cornelia Müller und Hermann Kappelhoff: Cinematic Metaphor. Experience – Affectivity – Temporality (in Zusammenarbeit mit Sarah Greifenstein, Dorothea Horst, Thomas Scherer, Christina Schmitt) (Oktober 2018)

Sarah Greifenstein, Dorothea Horst, Thomas Scherer, Christina Schmitt, Hermann Kappelhoff, Cornelia Müller (Hrsg.): Cinematic Metaphor in Perspective. Reflections on a Transdisciplinary Framework (mit Beiträgen von Lynne Cameron, Alan Cienki, Anne Eusterschulte, Kathrin Fahlenbrach, Raymond W. Gibbs, Michael Wedel) (Oktober 2018)

Dorothea Horst: Meaning-Making and Political Campaign Advertising. A Cognitive-linguistic and Film-analytical Perspective on Audiovisual Figurativity (November 2018)

Christina Schmitt: Wahrnehmen, fühlen verstehen. Metaphorisieren und audiovisuelle Bilder (Frühjahr 2019)

 

Außerdem versammelt die zweite Ausgabe unseres online journals mediaesthetics Beiträge von Keynote-Speakern und einigen vortragenden Nachwuchswissenschaftlern der RaAM-Tagung 2016 „Metaphor in the Arts, in Media and Communication“, die von Cinepoetics (in Kooperation mit der Europa-Universität Viadrina, Frankfurt Oder) ausgerichtet wurde.